My first thought after watching “The Wrath of Khan” was that it seems to eschew the “intellectual sci-fi” plots of TOS for some “action sci-fi” blockbuster plot. I wondered if fans originally criticized it and then cooled down on it later, but apparently not? Everybody loved it right away?
Continuing my first-time watch of all Star Trek in release order, I finally come up to “The Wrath of Khan”! It was a lot of fun, with much better pacing and story structure than the first film. The plot is full of holes and contrived beats but at least it’s exciting! I jumped when I finally saw THE MEME in context!
The coyote dad/mom (?) of Byrne Creek Park seems busy today. Saw it twice. The good fluffy boy isn’t happy about it (he’s racist against coyotes). Thankfully he’s now relaxing with a ball.
I still remember the sense of excitement I felt upon learning the existence of an animal called the “wombat”, imagining a dreadful winged creature of the night, and the utter disappointment that followed when I saw what it actually looks like.
GenAI is basically shit at everything except for two specific things, and for one of these, “software development tasks”, I think it’s only “good” in the same way that “let’s move all our development to India” seemed “good” in the early 2000s. Check how that turned out in the end.
I played through The Last Of Us (Part 1) a couple months ago and my hot take is that it’s like a David Cage game: it’s more interested in being a movie with vaguely interactive scenes between story beats than being a video game. The difference with a David Cage game is that it’s actually very good.
Think your #TTRPG PC background is too far fetched? Here is Harukichi Shimoi: a Japanese poet, Asahi soft drink entrepreneur, Karate teacher, and member of the WW1 Italian “Arditi” special shock troop whose choice weapons were daggers and grenades, and whose motto was “We either win or we all die!”